About the ELCIC


1986 through merger of the former Evangelical Lutheran Church of Canada (ELCC) and Lutheran Church in America-Canada Section (LCA-CS)

Mission Statement

The mission of this church, as an expression of the universal Church and as an instrument of the Holy Spirit, is to bring the Gospel of Jesus Christ to people in Canada and around the world through the proclamation of the Word, the administration of the Sacraments and through service in Christ’s name.

Four Vision Priorities

– Spirited Discipleship
– Compassionate Justice
– Healthy Church
– Effective Partnerships.


The Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada functions through three major entities: nationally as the ELCIC, regionally as synods, and locally as congregations. Each entity has unique ministries as well as ministries which are shared with the other entities. The synods are also divided into geographical conferences to assist in their ministry.


525 congregations
Approx. 114,592 baptized members
British Columbia Synod: The Rev. Dr Greg Mohr, Bishop
Synod of Alberta and the Territories: The Rev. Dr. Larry Kochendorfer, Bishop
Saskatchewan Synod: The Rev. Sidney Haugen, Bishop
Manitoba/Northwestern Ontario Synod: The Rev. Elaine Sauer, Bishop
Eastern Synod: The Rev. Michael Pryse, Bishop

Schools And Seminaries

Luther College, Regina, SK.
Lutheran Collegiate Bible Institute, Outlook, SK.
Lutheran Theological Seminary, Saskatoon, SK.
Waterloo Lutheran Seminary, Waterloo, ON.p